About


Available

  • Mon-Th 9am – 5pm
  • Friday 9am – 3pm
  • Sunday 11am – 3pm

I’m Sarah, a photographer, writer & web developer based in North Dorset.

I’m a multipotentialite. Here’s what I do:

Study

I’ve studied planetary sciences, astronomy, maths, physics, cosmology, geology, nuclear physics, genetic engineering, photography, computer science and web development to degree level, and I’ve got distinctions in almost every science university course I’ve ever taken (I missed one course by 2 points – gggrrrr). I play violin to ABRSM Grade 8 as well as viola, cello & a little piano. At the moment I’m using LinkedIn Learning to go further into backend web development and to brush up my Java Script skills.

Day-to-Day

I’m a photographer, web developer & writer, and I’m also a company director for a very successful and growing business psychology consultancy.

Photography

My photographic work spans genres, and mainly focuses on creative & experimental image making. I like playing with ideas around truthfulness and the photographic medium.

Hobbies & Leisure

I’m a fan of sci-fi and fantasy, painting in oils and acrylics, cinema, horse riding when I get the chance, archery and gardening – well, growing things really. I’ve been learning how to propagate plants during lockdown so I’ve turned my Monstera into 8 Monsteras, my chocolate and Moroccan mint plants into at least 20 new plants, and I’m just about to make baby hydrangeas. I’m trying to resist buying succulents, but I’m not sure how long that will last. I enjoy reading – mainly non-fiction – I tend to read about philosophy or economics. However, I’ve recently been reading fiction based on Russian folk-law and fairytales.

Covid-19 Lockdown Woes

When it’s all over, I’m looking forward to cafes reopening so I can get a decent cup of coffee and work somewhere different. I’m excited about getting back to the cinema because my youngest son loves it so much; the sooner we can get to The Prince Charles Cinema, the better. I’m missing violin lessons and to my great surprise I’m really missing my local gym. My regular visits to central London have had to stop and I’m sad that I’m not able to visit The Globe and Tate Modern, two of my favourite haunts.

Has covid brought out my childish side? I’ve got myself two Funko Pop figures since all this began but I’ve never bought one before. I have Nick Rhodes from Duran Duran, and Han Solo in Carbonite. I feel a collection or two coming on.

Covid has also pushed me into becoming the family hairdresser and a driving instructor. No-one has complained, but I’m always a bit nervous about both of these for obvious reasons. No-one needs to cut my hair; I’ve not had a haircut for three years.

My Past Experiences

Not how the designer of this page foresaw this bit, but here goes.

Being in Local Authority Care
From age 14 to 17 I was in the care of the local authority because my mum was ill with paranoid schizophrenia and thought I was a witch so tried to kill me.

Home Educator
My partner and I home educated our children from very early primary (YR1/2) to the beginning of secondary school (YR7/8).

Living in Manhattan
At the end of 2016 we lived in the middle of Manhattan for a short time when my partner worked for the UN. That was an experience for someone who usually lives in rural North Dorset.